Fiction & Documentary

Tizza Covi

Director

… studied at the college for photography in Vienna and worked as a freelance photographer in Rome. She founded the production company VENTO FILM together with Rainer Frimmel in 2002. After the documentaries Das ist alles and Babooska, her first fiction film La Pivellina was awarded in Cannes (Europa Cinema Label) and was shown at more than 130 festivals. Covi is now working on her third fiction film Mr. Universo.

Brent Meistre

Curator, Lecturer

… is a South African photographer and film maker whose work has been featured at exhibitions and festivals worldwide. His current project, the drive-in & pop-up cinema „Analogue Eye“, features works by 48 African video artists and will be part of the Wiener Festwochen. He is the Sectional Head of Photography at the Rhodes University, Fine Art Department in Grahamstown.

Margarida Moz

Festival Programmer

With a Masters in Social Anthropology, has been working in film, both in documentary research, production and for several film festivals in Portugal for 15 years now. Currently she is a short film programmer at IndieLisboa (nternational Independent Film Festival) and the head of Portugal Film, an agency for international promotion and sales of Portuguese films.

Animation Avantgarde

Thorsten Fleisch

Filmmaker, Artist

… was born 1972 in Koblenz. He took his first shots at film making as a student with the Super-8-Camera of his dad. He later studied experimental film at the Städelschule in Frankfurt under Peter Kubelka. He lives and works in Berlin, where he is just finishing his first video game called ‘Teslapunk’ for Nintendo Wii-U and Microsoft Xbox One.

Noel Palazzo

Curator, Festival Manager

Screenwriter, novelist and film curator. Co-creator of Punto y Raya Festival, devoted to abstract art in motion. She has directed awarded short films and lectures and writes essays as a film critic. Juror for international film festivals, curator with focus on avantgarde animation. Member of MAD (Barcelona) since 2004 and the iotaCenter Advisory Council (Los Angeles) since 2008.

Tanja Widmann

Artist, Lecturer

… works as artist, author and senior lecturer at the University for Applied Art, Vienna. Writes i.a. for Texte der Kunst, May, springerin. Various articles in catalogues. Exhibitions, i.a. Unruhe der Form. Entwürfe des politischen Subjekts (Secession, Vienna), eine von euch (Grazer Kunstverein, Graz) as well as Karlruhe, Prague and Murcia (Manifesta8).

National competition

Bernd Brehmer

Cinema Operation, Festival Manager

Born 1966 in Munich. Studied German philology and history of art, as well as film history at the Munich Film Museum. Co-founder of the film magazine “24” in 1991, co-operator of the Munich Werkstattkino since 1995. Besides curating numerous film programmes, the interest in rummaging up remote pieces, awakes. 2006 co-founder of the UNDERDOX film festival.

Magdalena Miedl

Film Journalist

 

… writes about cinema and other edibles. Lives in Vienna.

Cristina Picchi

Film maker, Artist

… is an Italian film maker, writer and visual artist based in London. She has directed and edited the short documentaries Under Your Skin (2011), Eyes On The Ground (2012) and Zima (2013) which have been screened worldwide, winning prizes in festivals such as Locarno and Clermont-Ferrand and a nomination for the European Film Awards. She is currently working on her first feature film.

Youth jury

Dominik Wessely, Nenad Kübast, Rebecca Englisch.

Music video competition

Lydia Beilby

Curator, Artist

… is a curator, artist and educator. She has been Short Film Programmer at Edinburgh International Film Festival since 2010, and is also a member of analogue moving-image collective Screen Bandita, whose expanded-cinema works have been performed widely at film festivals and galleries, incl. Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen, London Short Film Festival and Battersea Arts Centre.

Christian Pausch

Music journalist

Born in 1988 and raised in Münichsthal in the Weinviertel. He studied German philology focussing on Scandinavian Studies and Jewish Studies at the University of Vienna, works as editor and presenter at Radio FM4 since 2008, also runs his own knitting-label besides that and dabbles in making short films and music videos.

Leo Riegler

Artist, Musician

… together with the drummer Lukas König forms the congenial duo koenigleopold, which rap improvised and groovy into rage. They feel home in the atonal as well as the avantgardedisco sector. Riegler, somwhere in-between insanity and ingenuity, is responsible for voice, electronics, saxophone, guitar and piano.

Night of the Light

Jana Koch

Film scholar

Born 1982, assistant-in-training at the Institute of Theatre, Film and Media Studies at the University Vienna, dissertation project about author’s films. Worked as assistant director at the ORF, editing for various publications, freelancer in the social, cultural and media pedagogical sector.

Marijana Stoisits

Manager Vienna Film Commission

… holds a PhD in Ethnology and History of Art. She studied in Hamburg, Berlin and Vienna and worked as Chief Editor and Presenter for Spiegel TV. Since 2009 she is head of the Vienna Film Commission (with i.a. “Woman in Gold” and “Mission: Impossible V” in Vienna). Member of the board of the worldwide association of Film Commissions since 2014.

Alexandra Radl

Marketing Director Wien Energie

… studied Journalism and Communication Studies combined with of Psychology and Russian and graduated from a university course in market and opinion research. Is marketing director of Wien Energie since 2008 and member of the board of the Marketing Club Österreich (MCÖ)

Tatjana Alexander

Actress

Born in Melbourne, studied acting in L.A. and Sydney and had her TV acting debut in Stockinger and Kommissar Rex 1996. She was acting in various series like Tatort and Stromberg, has worked with Lois Weinberger, Filippos Tsitos and Anja Salomonowitz and as co-director in theatre and dance.

Marlene Ropac

Manager Akademie des Österreichischen Films

… managing director of Akademie des Österreichischen Films since 2009. Prior chief press officer at Tanzquartier and Viennale. She worked in Da Ponte Institut and Kunsthalle Wien, was founding member and chief executive of „Depot – Kunst und Diskussion“ as well as office manager for the federal fine art curators.

Fiction & Documentary

Tizza Covi

Regisseurin

... besuchte das Kolleg für Fotografie in Wien und arbeitete als freie Fotografin in Rom. Mit Rainer Frimmel gründete sie 2002 die Produktionsfirma VENTO FILM. Nach den Dokus Das ist alles und Babooska entstand 2009 ihr erster Spielfilm La Pivellina, der in Cannes (Europa Cinema Label) ausgezeichnet wurde und auf über 130 Festivals lief. Derzeit arbeitet Covi am dritten Spielfilm Mr. Universo.

Brent Meistre

Kuratur, Lektor

… ist ein südafrikanischer Fotograf und Filmemacher, dessen Arbeiten auf Ausstellungen und Festivals weltweit gezeigt wurden. Sein derzeitiges Projekt, das Drive-in & Pop-up Kino „Analogue Eye“, besteht aus Werken von 48 afrikanischen Videokünstlern und wird Teil der Wiener Festwochen sein. Er leitet den Fotografie-Zweig am Kunstinstitut der Rhodes-Universität in Grahamstown.

Margarida Moz

Festivalkuratorin

... studierte Sozialanthropologie und arbeitet seit 15 Jahren im Filmbereich, sowohl in der Dokumentarfilm-Recherche und Produktion als auch bei mehreren Filmfestivals in Portugal. Aktuell ist sie Kurzfilmkuratorin bei IndieLisboa (International Independent Film Festival) und Leiterin von Portugal Film, einer Agentur für die internationale Promotion und den Verkauf von portugiesischen Filmen.

Animation Avantgarde

Thorsten Fleisch

Filmemacher, Künstler

… kam 1972 in Koblenz zur Welt. Seine ersten Filmversuche machte er als Schüler mit der Super-8-Kamera seines Vaters. Später studierte er Experimentalfilm bei Peter Kubelka an der Städelschule in Frankfurt am Main. Er lebt und arbeitet in Berlin, wo er gerade sein erstes Videospiel für die Nintendo Wii-U und Microsoft Xbox One namens 'Teslapunk' fertigstellt.

Noel Palazzo

Kuratorin, Festivalleiterin

Drehbuch- und Romanautorin und Filmkuratorin. Mitbegründerin des Punto y Raya Festival, der abstrakten, beweglichen Art gewidmet. Sie führte Regie bei preisgekrönnten Kurzfilmen und lektoriert und schreibt Essays als Filmkritikerin. Jurorin für internationale Filmfestivals, Kuratorin mit Fokus auf Avantgarde Animation. Mitglied der MAD (Barcelona) seit 2004 und dem iotaCenter Advisory Council (Los Angeles) seit 2008.

Tanja Widmann

Künstlerin, Lektorin

... arbeitet als Künstlerin, Autorin und Senior Lecturer an der Universität für angewandte Kunst, Wien. Schreibt u.a. für Texte zur Kunst, May, springerin. Diverse Beiträge in Katalogen. Ausstellungen, u.a. Unruhe der Form. Entwürfe des politischen Subjekts (Secession, Wien), eine von euch (Grazer Kunstverein, Graz) sowie in Karlsruhe, Prag und Murcia (Manifesta8).

Österreich Wettbewerb

Bernd Brehmer

Kinobetreiber, Festivalleiter

Geboren 1966 in München. Studium Germanistik und Kunstgeschichte sowie nebenbei (aber hauptsächlich) Filmgeschichte im Münchner Filmmuseum. 1991 Mitbegründer der Filmzeitschrift "24", seit 1995 Mitbetreiber des Münchner Werkstattkinos. Neben dem Programmieren zahlreicher Filmreihen erwacht bald das Interesse am Aufstöbern entlegener Werke. 2006 Mitbegründer des UNDERDOX Film Festivals.

Magdalena Miedl

Filmjournalistin

… schreibt über Kino und andere Lebensmittel. Lebt in Wien.

Cristina Picchi

Filmemacherin, Künstlerin

… ist eine italienische Filmemachering, Autorin und Visual Artist, wohnhaft in London. Sie führte Regie und machte den Schnitt der Kurzdokumentarfilme Under Your Skin (2011), Eyes On The Ground (2012) und Zima (2013), welche weltweit gezeigt wurden, und Preise bei Festivals wie Locarno und Clermon-Ferrand gewonnen haben, wie auch eine Nomination für den Europäischen Filmpreis. Momentan arbeitet sie an ihrem ersten Langfilm.

Jugendjury

Dominik Wessely, Nenad Kübast, Rebecca Englisch.

Musikvideo Wettbewerb

Lydia Beilby

Kuratorin, Künstlerin

… ist Kuratorin, Künstlerin und Pädagogin. Sie ist seit 2010 Kurzfilmkuratorin beim Edinburgh International Film Festival und Teil des analogen Bewegtfilm-Kollektivs Screen Bandita, dessen Arbeiten schon bei zahlreichen Filmfestivals und in Galerien, inklusive Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen, London Shorts Film Festival und Battersea Arts Centre, gezeigt wurden.

Christian Pausch

Musikjournalist

Geboren 1988 und aufgewachsen in Münichsthal im Weinviertel, hat an der Uni Wien Germanistik mit Schwerpunkten auf Skandinavistik und Judaistik studiert, seit 2008 Redakteur und Moderator bei Radio FM4, betreibt nebenbei sein eigenes Strick-Label und versucht sich auch hin und wieder selbst an Kurzfilmen und Musikvideos.

Leo Riegler

Künstler, Musiker

… bildet gemeinsam mit dem Schlagzeuger Lukas König das kongeniale Duo koenigleopold, das sich seit 2005 groovend und frei improvisierend in Rage rappt und sich sowohl im Atonalen als auch im Avantgarde-Disco-Bereich wohlfühlt. Riegler, zwischen Irrsinn und Genialität irrlichternd, zeichnet für Stimme, Electronics, Saxofon, Gitarre und Piano verantwortlich.

Night of the Light

Jana Koch

Filmwissenschaftlerin

Geboren 1982, Assistentin in Ausbildung am Institut für Theater-, Film- und Medienwissenschaft der Uni Wien, Dissertationsprojekt zum AutorInnenfilm. Zuvor Regieassistentin beim ORF, redaktionelle Mitarbeit an diversen Publikationen, freiberufliche Tätigkeit in der sozial-, kultur- und medienpädagogischen Praxisarbeit.

Marijana Stoisits

Leiterin Vienna Film Commission

... ist promovierte Ethnologin und Kunsthistorikerin. Sie studierte in Hamburg, Berlin und Wien und arbeitete als Redaktionsleiterin und Moderatorin für Spiegel TV. Seit 2009 leitet sie die Vienna Film Commission (zuletzt u.a. mit „Woman in Gold“ und Mission: Impossible V“ in Wien). Seit 2014 im Vorstand des weltweiten Verbands der Film Commissions.

Alexandra Radl

Marketingleiterin Wien Energie

... studierte Publizistik und Kommunikationswissenschaften mit einer Kombination aus Psychologie und Russisch und absolvierte den Hochschullehrgang für Markt- und Meinungsforschung. Ist seit 2008 Marketingleiterin bei Wien Energie und im Vorstand des Marketing Club Österreich (MCÖ).

Tatjana Alexander

Schauspielerin

Geboren in Melbourne, studierte Schauspiel in L.A. und Sydney und gab 1996 ihr Fernsehdebüt in Stockinger und Kommissar Rex. Sie spielte in deutschen Krimi-Serien (u.a. Tatort) und Stromberg. Arbeitete mit Lois Weinberger, Filippos Tsitos und Anja Salomonowitz sowie als Co-Regisseurin im Theater- und Tanzbereich.

Marlene Ropac

Leiterin Akademie des Österreichischen Films

... ist seit 2009 Geschäftsführerin der Akademie des Österreichischen Films. Zuvor Kommunikationsleiterin im Tanzquartier und Presseleiterin der Viennale. Sie arbeitete im Da Ponte Institut und in der Kunsthalle Wien, war Mitbegründerin und Geschäftsführerin des „Depot – Kunst und Diskussion“ und Leiterin der Büros der BundeskuratorInnen für Bildende Kunst.